Home | Imprint Philippines,culture,cities,tourism,provinces,beach,holiday

Philippine Islands

 philippine islands, philippinen insel 
Zamboanga Del Sur
Island Group Mindanao
Region Zamboanga Peninsula
Capital Pagadian City
Area 5,914.16 km²
Cities 2
Municipalities 26
- Total 914,278
- Density/km² 154.59
Income class 1
Location in the Philippines:

Zamboanga Del Sur

Zamboanga del Sur is a province of the Philippines located in Region IX and occupies the southern section of the Zamboanga Peninsula that forms the western part of the island of Mindanao. The province is bounded on the north by Zamboanga del Norte; on the south by the Moro Gulf; on the southwest by Zamboanga Sibugay; and on the east and northeast by Lanao del Norte, Misamis Occidental and Panguil Bay.

Zamboanga del Sur was carved out from the former Zamboanga province that encompassed the entire peninsula in the southwestern Mindanao on September 17, 1952 by virtue of Republic Act 711. As the 52nd province of the Philippines, it originally consisted of 11 towns, which were later expanded into 42 municipalities and 1 city with Pagadian as its capital.

Zamboanga del Sur is a province that is shaped by the migration patterns of different groups of people, making it a province of total diversity. The development of the place into the province it is now was then accelerated by the arrival of other ethnic groups that brought with them their own set of traditions and culture, including their dialects. These were the Chavacanos, the Muslims from other provinces, and the Tagalogs.

The most commonly spoken language of the province is Cebuano, spoken by 72.47% of the population. Also spoken are Zamboangueño/Chavacano, Tagalog, Subanen, Ilonggo, Maguindanao, Iranun, Boholano, and Ilocano.

Zamboanga del Sur, like almost all of the rural provinces in the Philippines, is mostly reliant on agriculture for the bulk of its economy. It is not to say that industrialization has not reached the province but due to geographical, political and socio-economic reasons, it excels more in the fields of agriculture, mining and fishing. The major crops that Zamboanga del Sur produces are corn, palay (rice), coconuts and fruit trees. Zamboanga del Sur’s coastline covers 14 municipalities, as well as the province’s capital, Pagadian City. As such, fishing and aquatic resources are also major contributors to the economy of the province.

The province also contains vast deposits of metallic and non-metallic minerals. The mineral reserves include marble, clay, sand, gravel and gold, although these are classified to small scale industry particularly gold mining.

The Megayon Festival is considered as the province’s official festival. The festival is a week-long gathering held in September to celebrate the unity and cultural diversity of the early settlers that contribute to the founding of Zamboanga del Sur. Cultural dances and traditional costumes as well as arts and crafts are proudly.

The most populous cities and municipalities in Zamboanga Del Sur are:

City/Municipality City class Area
in km²
Urbanisation Population
Total Density/km²
Zamboanga City Highly Urbanized City 1,414.70 1 partly urban 774,407 547.40
Pagadian City Component City 378.80 2 partly urban 161,312 425.85
Molave Municipality 251.50 1 partly urban 48,215 191.71
Aurora Municipality 180.95 2 partly urban 47,177 260.72
Dumingag Municipality 297.75 2 partly urban 46,039 154.62
Mahayag Municipality 194.90 0 partly urban 44,087 226.20
Labangan Municipality 157.90 0 partly urban 37,598 238.11
Tukuran Municipality 144.91 0 partly urban 36,591 252.51
Margosatubig Municipality 111.69 3 partly urban 34,939 312.82
Tambulig Municipality 130.65 0 partly urban 34,242 262.09

Copyright © 2010 - 2016 Alojado Publishing International. All rights reserved. Created 10.02.16 11:41:44 by www.philippine-islands.ph
Philippines, poeple & country, culture, history, everyday life and tourism. Music, video & galleries.