Home | Imprint Philippines,culture,cities,tourism,provinces,beach,holiday

Philippine Islands

 philippine islands, philippinen insel 
Island Group Visayas
Region Western Visayas
Province Negros Occidental
Area 48.03 km²
Barangays 16
PSGC 064530000
ZIP 6103
- Total 34,895
- Density/km² 726.53
Income class 4
Urbanisation partly urban
Location in the Philippines:


Valladolid is a 4th class Philippine municipality in the province of Negros Occidental located in Western Visayas Region or Region VI and belongs to the Visayas group of islands. The Municipality of Valladolid is seated about 26 km south-southwest of Bacolod City, the provincial capital and about 500 km south-southeast of Manila, the Philippine capital.

This Philippine municipality is bounded on the north by the municipality of Pulupandan, on the south by the municipality of San Enrique, on the west by Guimaras Strait and on the east by the city of La Carlota. Valladolid is approximately 35 minutes from Bacolod City by private car and about 45 minutes by public transport via the national highway.

The Municipality of Valladolid is politically subdivided into 16 barangays and is classified as partly urban. It occupies a total land area of 48.03 km² and based on the August 2007 census, the municipality has a total population of 34,895 residents. Thus by average, 726.53 people are living on one square kilometer of the municipality.

The Municipality of Valladolid was established in 1860. It was once called "Inabuyan" until the arrival of the Spanish leaders. One of them named the place after his own native town, Valladolid in Spain. At that time, Valladolid was considered as one of the most prosperous towns of Negros Occidental. People from neighboring islands settled in the place, which was their docking area in coming to Negros.

In 1851, the Recollect Missionaries laid the foundation of the said to be biggest church in the province of Negros Occidental at that time, the Our Lady of Guadalupe Church. The size of the church and convent is a living proof that Valladolid was among the province’s most progressive pueblos. At present, the church is one of the famous landmarks of the town.

Every year the Municipality of Valladolid celebrates the Pasundayag Festival which is a thanksgiving and celebration for a good harvest. It is a farmer’s festival in honor of the town’s patroness, Nuestra Señora de Guadalupe. The festival features street dancing competition, arena festival dance showdown and merry making.

Administratively the Municipality of Valladolid is subdivided into 16 barangays. One forms the center of the city wheras the other 15 are in the outlying areas. Some of them are even several kilometers away from the center of the Municipality. The most populous are Doldol, Batuan, Guintorilan, Ayungon, Bayabas, Paloma, Lacaron, Pacol, Alijis, Palaka, Sagua Banua, Bagumbayan, Central Tabao, Mabini, Tabao Proper.

Among the bigger cities and muni­ci­pa­li­ties in the neigh­bor­hood of Valladolid there are Cadiz City 74 km north-east, Toledo City (Cebu) 90 km east, Bacolod City 26 km north-north-east, City Of Kabankalan 53 km south, Bago City 7 km north, Iloilo City (Iloilo) 39 km north-west, City Of Himamaylan 41 km south, City Of Carcar (Cebu) 97 km east-south-east, San Carlos City 49 km east as well as 80 km north-east of Valladolid the municipality Sagay City.

Copyright © 2010 - 2015 Alojado Publishing International. All rights reserved. Created 01.12.15 19:15:26 by www.philippine-islands.ph
Philippines, poeple & country, culture, history, everyday life and tourism. Music, video & galleries.