Home | Imprint Philippines,culture,cities,tourism,provinces,beach,holiday

Philippine Islands

 philippine islands, philippinen insel 
Island Group Luzon
Region Central Luzon
Capital City Of Tarlac
Area 3,053.60 km²
Cities 1
Municipalities 17
- Total 1,243,449
- Density/km² 407.21
Income class 1
Location in the Philippines:


Tarlac is a landlocked province of the Philippines located in Luzon Island. Tarlac City is the provincial capital. The province is subdivided into 17 municipalities and 1 city which are further subdivided into 511 barangays. It also comprises 3 congressional districts. Tarlac is bounded by Pampanga in the south, Nueva Ecija in the east, Pangasinan in the north and Zambales in the west.

Approximately 75% of the province is plain while the rest is hilly to mountainous. Because of this, Tarlac is home to many mountains like Mt. Telakawa, which is the highest mountain in the province located in Capas, Tarlac. Other mountains located in the province are Mt. Bueno also located in Capas; Mt. Dueg and Mt. Maasin in the municipality of San Clemente; Mt. Papaac, Bacsay, Cayasan and Birbira of Camiling.

Tarlac’s name is a Hispanized derivation from a weed called in Ilocano as “Malatarlak.” It was originally a part of the provinces of Pampanga and Pangasinan. The province was organized under Spanish administration in 1874. During the Philippine Revolution in 1896, Tarlac was one of the first eight provinces to rise in arms against Spain. The province was, however, captured by American forces in November 1899 and a civil government was established in 1901. In the early 1950s, Tarlac was the hotbed of Hukbalahap, a local communist movement.

Pampanga or Kapampangan is the language spoken by more than half of the population. Other languages spoken in the province are Ilocano and Pangasinan. Tagalog is widely understood. Like the rest of Central Luzon, Tarlac has two distinct seasons: dry from November to April and wet for the rest of the year.

The economy of Tarlac is dominantly agriculture. Its principal crops are rice and sugarcane. The province has its own rice and corn mills. It has three sugar centrals. When it comes to sugar production, Tarlac is next to Negros Occidental which is the nation’s sugar capital. Other major crops in the province are corn and coconut; vegetables such as eggplant, garlic and onion; and fruit trees like mango, banana and calamansi. Tarlac is also rich in natural resources and forest products such as coal, iron, copper, manganese, sand, rocks and forest animals such as wild boar and deer.

Tarlac is the home province of the Conjuangco and Aquino families, most notable for producing democracy icons, Ninoy and Cory Aquino, as well as their son, President Noynoy Aquino. Other famous personalities from the province are Pulitzer Prize winner General Carlos P. Romulo; former secretary of the Department of Education Onofre D. Corpuz and actress-turned-politician Vilma Santos.

The most populous cities and municipalities in Tarlac are:

City/Municipality City class Area
in km²
Urbanisation Population
Total Density/km²
City Of Tarlac Component City 274.66 1 partly urban 314,155 1,143.80
Concepcion Municipality 242.99 1 partly urban 135,213 556.45
Capas Municipality 376.39 1 partly urban 122,084 324.36
Paniqui Municipality 105.16 1 partly urban 83,311 792.23
Gerona Municipality 128.89 1 partly urban 82,022 636.37
Camiling Municipality 140.53 1 partly urban 79,941 568.85
Bamban Municipality 251.98 2 partly urban 61,644 244.64
La Paz Municipality 114.33 2 partly urban 61,324 536.38
Victoria Municipality 111.51 2 partly urban 57,085 511.93
Moncada Municipality 85.75 1 partly urban 54,547 636.12

Copyright © 2010 - 2016 Alojado Publishing International. All rights reserved. Created 09.02.16 16:47:45 by www.philippine-islands.ph
Philippines, poeple & country, culture, history, everyday life and tourism. Music, video & galleries.