Home | Imprint Philippines,culture,cities,tourism,provinces,beach,holiday

Philippine Islands

 philippine islands, philippinen insel 
Surigao Del Sur
Island Group Mindanao
Region Caraga
Capital City Of Tandag
Area 4,932.70 km²
Cities 2
Municipalities 17
- Total 541,347
- Density/km² 109.75
Income class 1
Location in the Philippines:

Surigao Del Sur

Surigao del Sur is one of the provinces of the Philippines belonging in the CARAGA region. It is situated along the northeastern coast of Mindanao facing the Pacific Ocean. The province is bordered by Surigao del Norte on the north, Philippine Sea on the east, Davao Oriental on the south and Agusan del Norte and Agusan del Sur on the west.

The province of Surigao del Sur was created on June 19, 1960 as the 56th Philippine province by virtue of Republic Act 2786. It was once part of its mother province, Surigao del Norte, but was formally separated on September 18, 1960. Initially, the province had 13 municipalities. Now, it has 17 municipalities mostly located in coastal areas and 2 cities which are Bislig and Tandag, the provincial capital. These municipalities are further subdivided into 309 barangays.

The original inhabitants of the province were Mamanwas and Manobos. It was through the arrival of immigrants that Surigao obtained its name. There were two versions of the story. One is from a native named “Saliagao”, who lived by the mouth of the river. The name was later pronounced “Surigao” by the inhabitants. The other version is that some Visayan fishermen forced by the strong current of the Surigao Strait, sought refuge in one of the huts somewhere in the province. The native Mamanwas who thought that these men wanted to occupy the huts by force said “ agaw”. This term was given the prefix “suri” and “suriagaw” was formed and was later shortened to “Surigao”.

The main economic activities in the province are farming and fishing. Surigao del Sur is one of the suppliers of agricultural products like rice, corn, banana, coconut and some tropical fruits like mango. Copper, chromite and silver can also be found here. The province is also home to the largest pulp and paper company in the country.

Surigao del Sur is one of the remaining frontier provinces of the Philippines. The province is home of the Tinuy-an Falls, a spectacular multi-tiered falls. It rises majestically to a height of a four-story building and a spectacular width of 95 meters – said to be the widest in the country. It is nestled in a tropical rainforest with towering, century-old tress and exotic flora and fauna surrounding it. The Cagwait White Beach which is one of the best unspoiled beaches in the Philippines and the soothing Malinawa Cool Spring in Cantilan also attract tourists.

The most populous cities and municipalities in Surigao Del Sur are:

City/Municipality City class Area
in km²
Urbanisation Population
Total Density/km²
City Of Bislig Component City 331.80 3 partly urban 102,009 307.44
City Of Tandag Component City 291.73 0 partly urban 50,459 172.96
Barobo Municipality 242.50 3 partly urban 40,933 168.80
Hinatuan Municipality 299.10 2 partly urban 37,368 124.93
Tagbina Municipality 343.49 2 partly urban 36,595 106.54
San Miguel Municipality 558.00 1 partly urban 32,737 58.67
Tago Municipality 253.28 2 partly urban 31,342 123.74
Cantilan Municipality 240.10 2 partly urban 28,659 119.36
Lianga Municipality 161.12 4 partly urban 27,006 167.61
Lingig Municipality 305.17 2 partly urban 23,714 77.71

Copyright © 2010 - 2016 Alojado Publishing International. All rights reserved. Created 09.02.16 16:44:00 by www.philippine-islands.ph
Philippines, poeple & country, culture, history, everyday life and tourism. Music, video & galleries.