Home | Imprint Philippines,culture,cities,tourism,provinces,beach,holiday

Philippine Islands

 philippine islands, philippinen insel 
Lanao Del Norte
Island Group Mindanao
Region Northern Mindanao
Capital Tubod
Area 4,159.94 km²
Cities 1
Municipalities 22
- Total 538,283
- Density/km² 129.40
Income class 2
Location in the Philippines:

Lanao Del Norte

Lanao del Norte is a province of the Philippines located in the Northern Mindanao region. The province is composed of 22 municipalities and 1 independent city which is Iligan City. The provincial capital is the municipality of Tubod. Lanao del Norte is a rugged province that ranges from the coastal shorelines in the north to the high plateaus and mountains in the south. It has also diverse flora and fauna.

The term Lanao is derived from a Maranao word “Ranao” meaning a body of water. “Maranao” means lake dweller. They are the natives of the place and they occupy the area around Lake Lanao, which is situated at the central part of Lanao del Sur. Lanao applies to the entire area before its division through Republic Act No. 2228. This Act divided Lanao into two provinces giving birth to Lanao del Norte and Lanao del Sur. The new province was inaugurated on July 4, 1959 making Iligan City as the capital. In 1977, however, President Ferdinand E. Marcos signed Resolution No. 805 into Presidential Decree 181 transferring the province’s capital from Iligan City to the municipality of Tubod.

The economy of Lanao del Norte is predominantly based on agriculture and fishing. Factories are mostly based in Iligan City. The province is the home of Agus Power Plants which supply the power needs of some parts of Mindanao. Tourism is also a growing economy in the province.

The people of Lanao del Norte are a mixture of Maranaos and Cebuanos. Historically, immigrants who came from the Christian provinces of Mindanao, Visayas and Luzon tend to settle in the Northern part of Lanao while the Maranaos inhabited the south.

The Maranao is an ethnic group of Malay descent. They settled in the area long before the arrival of the Spaniards in the Philippines. They possess their own culture and civilization which makes them quite unique. Their language, customs, traditions, religion, social system, costumes, music and other features are factors that make Lanao peculiar and distinct from other Philippine provinces.

The province is home to many majestic falls. Iligan City alone has over 20 waterfalls – no wonder, it is nicknamed the City of Majestic Waterfalls. Maria Cristina, a 320 feet high falls that spills 130 cubic meters per second of water, is the most famous. The province of Lanao del Norte beat with cultural diversity of gentle and proud people. Truly, the province is a window into the soul of the often misunderstood Mindanao.

The most populous cities and municipalities in Lanao Del Norte are:

City/Municipality City class Area
in km²
Urbanisation Population
Total Density/km²
Iligan City Highly Urbanized City 813.37 0 partly urban 308,046 378.73
Lala Municipality 140.25 1 partly urban 58,395 416.36
Kapatagan Municipality 242.89 2 partly urban 49,134 202.29
Sultan Naga Dimaporo (Karomatan) Municipality 230.99 5 partly urban 46,004 199.16
Baloi Municipality 90.98 3 partly urban 44,366 487.65
Tubod Municipality 246.80 2 partly urban 44,095 178.67
Kolambugan Municipality 134.55 4 partly urban 25,306 188.08
Salvador Municipality 113.99 5 partly urban 23,222 203.72
Kauswagan Municipality 60.37 5 partly urban 23,087 382.43
Baroy Municipality 72.35 4 partly urban 21,430 296.20

Copyright © 2010 - 2016 Alojado Publishing International. All rights reserved. Created 07.02.16 18:13:30 by www.philippine-islands.ph
Philippines, poeple & country, culture, history, everyday life and tourism. Music, video & galleries.