Home | Imprint Philippines,culture,cities,tourism,provinces,beach,holiday

Philippine Islands

 philippine islands, philippinen insel 
La Castellana
Island Group Visayas
Region Western Visayas
Province Negros Occidental
Area 185.22 km²
Barangays 13
PSGC 064517000
ZIP 6131
- Total 70,838
- Density/km² 382.45
Income class 1
Urbanisation partly urban
Location in the Philippines:

La Castellana

La Castellana is a 1st class municipality in the province of Negros Occidental in Region VI or Western Visayas which belongs to the Visayas group of islands. It is seated about 40 km south-southeast of Bacolod City, the provincial capital and about 523 km south-southeast of Manila, the Philippine capital. The municipality was named after the famous "Paseo de La Castellana" in Madrid, Spain.

La Castellana is bounded on the north by La Carlota City, on the south by Isabela and Moises Padilla, on the west by Hinigaran and Pontevedra, and on the east by the provincial boundaries of Negros Occidental and Negros Oriental. This municipality can be reached from Bacolod City in one and a half hour using public utility vehicle such as jeepneys and buses and about an hour by private car.

a Castellana is classified as partly urban and is composed of 13 barangays. The municipality occupies an area of 185.22 km². By the end of 2007, La Castellana was the home of 70,838 residents. Thus by average, 382.45 people are living on one square kilometer of the municipality.

The municipality of La Castellana is situated at the base of Mt. Kanlaon and as such, it is blessed with rich cultivation. It engages in sugarcane, rice and banana farming. It is known as the "Banana Capital of Negros Occidental" because of its vast production of banana. Thus, the municipality of La Castellana celebrates the "Banana Festival" annually every first week of April. This festival showcases the different varieties of banana which are abundant in the municipality.

Another famous festival of La Castellana is the Bailes de Luces or the Festival of Lights. It is celebrated every January 5, the Charter Day of the municipality. The unique feature of this festival is the use of lights or "luces" as props and adornment for nocturnal festivities and street dancing.

La Castellana is not only famous for its festivities but also for its natural springs, caves, waterfalls and scenic spots. Among these are the Baji-Baji Spring Resort, Mandayao Shell Cave and Twin Falls, Tulo-Tulo Cave, Caduhada Spring Resort Splash and the Mt. Kanlaon Natural Park Administration Center.

Administratively the Municipality of La Castellana is subdivided into 13 barangays. One forms the center of the city wheras the other 12 are in the outlying areas. Some of them are even several kilometers away from the center of the Municipality. The most populous are Talaptap, Mansalanao, Puso, Lalagsan, Biaknabato, Masulog, Nato, Cabagnaan, Camandag, Manghanoy, Cabacungan, Sag-Ang, Robles (Pob.).

Among the bigger cities and muni­ci­pa­li­ties in the neigh­bor­hood of La Castellana there are City Of Talisay (Cebu) 89 km east, City Of Kabankalan 43 km south-south-west, Iloilo City (Iloilo) 65 km north-west, Mandaue City (Cebu) 100 km east, Bacolod City 40 km north-west, Cebu City (Cebu) 92 km east, Toledo City (Cebu) 69 km east, Bago City 31 km north-west, San Carlos City 32 km east-north-east as well as 77 km north-east of La Castellana the municipality Sagay City.

Copyright © 2010 - 2016 Alojado Publishing International. All rights reserved. Created 06.02.16 19:20:20 by www.philippine-islands.ph
Philippines, poeple & country, culture, history, everyday life and tourism. Music, video & galleries.