Home | Imprint Philippines,culture,cities,tourism,provinces,beach,holiday

Philippine Islands

 philippine islands, philippinen insel 
City Of Parañaque
Highly Urbanized City
Island Group Luzon
Region National Capital Region
Province Fourth District
Area 46.57 km²
Barangays 16
PSGC 137604000
ZIP 1700
- Total 552,660
- Density/km² 11,867.30
Income class 1
Urbanisation urban
Location in the Philippines:

City Of Parañaque

City Of Parañaque is a philippine highly urbanized city in Fourth District in Region National Capital Region which be­longs to the Luzon group of islands. The highly urbanized city City Of Parañaque is seated about 17-20 km south-south-west of Philippine main capital Manila.

Parañaque is bordered on the north by Pasay, by Taguig to the northeast, Muntinlupa to the southeast, by Las Piñas to the southwest, and by Manila Bay to the west. It is about 17 to 20 kilometers away from the City of Manila.

The city has a total population of 552,660 as of 2007. It occupies a total land area of 46.57 km² and this translates to a population density of 11,867.30 residents per square kilometre. The city is composed of two congressional districts and two legislative districts which are further subdivided into 16 barangays.

With over 10 shopping malls, various urban businesses and housing options and the title of the 8th wealthiest city in the country back in 2009 Parañaque is not only one of the major trade and business centers in the country. The the city has more to offer as it is also made up of rich culture and history.

In 1572, it was said that Parañaque was founded by the Agustinian Missionaries. Since its location is near to the sea, trading was common with the Chinese, Indonesians, Indians and Malayan merchants. Salt-making, fishing, planting rice, shoemaking, slipper-making, and weaving are the traditional livelihoods in the city. The aristocrats or the cabezas de barangay headed the community.

The name Parañaque is derived from the phrase "para na aque", which was commonly used in the past when people wished to disembark from kalesas (horse-drawn carriages). This phrase literally means "stop now, boy". "Para" from the Spanish parar (to stop), "na" from the Tagalog word "now" or “already," and "aque" from the Tagalog word lalaki which means boy.

Parañaque’s old name was Palanyag, when translated means "my beloved" which refers to the residents affection for their hometown. It is also possible that the name was derived from the combination of the terms "palayan" and "palalayag", the former meaning rice fields, which the city was once abounded in, and the latter pertaining to the sailing and fishing occupation of many of its residents. This was also a sign of cooperation and goodwill between the two major working sectors of the town, the farmers and the fishermen.

Parañaque became one of the hottest battle zones during the Philippine revolution due to its location halfway between the province of Cavite, where the revolutionaries held sway, and Manila where the seat of the Spanish colonial government was located. During the American occupation in the country, Parañaque became one of the first municipalities in the Metro Manila region. It was converted into a city on February 15, 1998 by Former President Fidel V. Ramos making it the 11th city in Metro Manila.

When it comes to accessibility and transportation, Parañaque City is part of the Light Rail Transit (LRT-1) system—Baclaran Station—and the Philippine National Railway (PNR) system—Bicutan and Sucat station. The city is also included in the various routes of buses, FXs and shuttle services from Manila—either taking the route to Bicutan or Sucat area. The city can also be reached through the South Luzon Expressway and the Metro Manila Skyway, both exiting in Bicutan; the C-5 south extension and through Roxas Boulevard, exiting by the Coastal Road.

Housing options vary in the city. After all, it is home to the well-off, the average and the one who just have enough for the day—home to the people from all walks of life. There are plenty of condominiums in the city, starting off with SMDC’s Chateau Elysee in Barangay Don Bosco, DMCI’s Artista Place in Barangay Sto. Niño and many others. Of course, there is also the choice of availing apartments and townhouses. There are private subdivisions such as BF Homes, Betterliving Subdivision and Multinational Village. There are also a couple of “sitios” in barangays Sto. Niño, San Martin de Porres, Baclaran, and others.

The city is also home to various celebrities and known personalities namely Joey Marquez, Anjo Yllana, Ted Failon, Freddie Webb, Jason Webb, Andrew E., the late comedy king Dolphy and a whole lot more.

There are over 10 shopping malls in the city, ranging to huge scale ones like SM and Robinsions to small ones like Llanas’. But aside from these, the city has other points of interest or attraction to visit. One of the must visit places in the city is Baclaran. This place contains a lot of stalls and stores for all kinds of items. May it be clothes, electronic devices, grocery items, toys, decorations and almost anything else you can think of—you can find it there.

If interested in sports, Parañaque City is home to the Elorde Sports Center and the Speedworld Motocross track. As for dining options, there are plenty of options in the city’s ihaw-ihaw restaurants along Dr. A Santos Avenue alone—and many more dining options throughout the city.

Parañaque is quite famous for its festival called the “caracol”. This water festival, that involves plenty of boats, is held to celebrate the feast of San Andres. The Sunduan Festival is also unique to the city—a festival inspired by a tradition long held by the Paraqueños. The Sunduan is a city tradition that depicts a man brining a woman who is the center of his affections to the church or town plaza, along with the accompaniment of a marching band.

Administratively the Highly Urbanized City of City Of Parañaque is subdivided into 16 barangays. The most populous are Vitalez, La Huerta, Don Galo, Merville, San Martin De Porres, Tambo, Baclaran, Santo Niño, Marcelo Green Village, Sun Valley, Don Bosco, Moonwalk, San Antonio, San Dionisio, San Isidro.

Among the bigger cities and muni­ci­pa­li­ties in the neigh­bor­hood of City Of Parañaque there are Quezon City (Second District) 17 km north-north-east, Taguig City 11 km east-north-east, City Of Manila (First District) 10 km north-north-east, Caloocan City (Third District) 16 km north, City Of Pasig (Second District) 13 km north-east, City Of Antipolo (Rizal) 20 km east-north-east, City Of Makati 8 km north-north-east, City Of Dasmariñas (Cavite) 22 km south, City Of Muntinlupa 14 km south-south-east as well as 22 km north of City Of Parañaque the highly urbanized city City Of Valenzuela (Third District).

Copyright © 2010 - 2015 Alojado Publishing International. All rights reserved. Created 30.11.15 19:48:09 by www.philippine-islands.ph
Philippines, poeple & country, culture, history, everyday life and tourism. Music, video & galleries.