Home | Imprint Philippines,culture,cities,tourism,provinces,beach,holiday

Philippine Islands

 philippine islands, philippinen insel 
Region IV-A
Island Group Luzon
Area 16,228.60 km²
- Total 11,743,110
- Density/km² 723.61
Provinces 5
Cities 14
Municipalities 128
Barangays 4,011
Location in the Philippines:


CALABARZON, also known as Region IV-A, is one of the regions of the Republic of the Philippines. The region’s name is formed from the names of the five provinces comprising the region: CAvite, LAguna, BAtangas, Rizal and QueZON.

CALA­BAR­ZON region is the result of the splitting of Southern Tagalog Region into two; Region IV-A or CALA­BAR­ZON and Region IV-B or MIMAROPA. These two new regions were formed by Executive Order No. 103, dated May 17, 2002. President Gloria Macapagal Arroyo issued the order in order to promote efficiency in the government, accelerate social and economic development and improve public services.

The region has 14 cities, 130 municipalities and 4,011 barangays. By virtue of Executive Order No. 246, dated October 28, 2003, Calamba City became the regional center of CALABARZON.

CALABARZON is located in the southwestern part of the main island Luzon, just south and east of Metro Manila. It is easily accessible and is a popular destination for families living in Manila. It is the second most densely populated region with a population density of 709.2 per square kilometers.

CALABARZON played a very important role in the history of the Philippines. It is the birthplace of two of heroes of the country; Dr. Jose P. Rizal, Philippines’ national hero, was born in Calamba, Laguna while Apolinario Mabini was born in Tanauan City, Batangas. The people of Batangas, Cavite and Laguna were among the first who revolted against the Spaniards for freedom. Philippine independence was proclaimed and held by the 1st Philippine president, Gen. Emilio Aguinaldo on June 12, 1898 in Cavite.

CALABARZON is home to the world’s smallest volcano, the famous Taal Volcano, which is in a lake. For tourists not wanting bigger crowds, Anilao, a world class diving spot with lovely beaches, is one of the best destina­tions. The region has some fantastic freshwater lakes, rivers, spectacular waterfalls such as the Pagsanjan Falls, and hot springs. For tourists who want a dose of Philippine history, the island of Corregidor, from World War II, is proudly part of the province of Cavite. The region is also rich in festivals. The traditional celebration of Pahiyas is held every 15th of May to give thanks for a bountiful harvest.

The most populous cities and municipalities in CALABARZON are:

City/Municipality Province Area
in km²
City Of Antipolo Rizal 306.10 633,971 2,071.12
City Of Dasmariñas Cavite 90.13 556,330 6,172.53
Bacoor Cavite 46.17 441,197 9,555.92
City Of Calamba Laguna 149.50 360,281 2,409.91
Batangas City Batangas 282.96 295,231 1,043.37
Cainta Rizal 42.99 289,833 6,741.87
San Pedro Laguna 24.05 281,808 11,717.59
City Of Santa Rosa Laguna 54.84 266,943 4,867.67
City Of Biñan Laguna 43.50 262,735 6,039.89
Taytay Rizal 38.80 262,485 6,765.08

Copyright © 2010 - 2015 Alojado Publishing International. All rights reserved. Created 25.11.15 17:13:54 by www.philippine-islands.ph
Philippines, poeple & country, culture, history, everyday life and tourism. Music, video & galleries.